Skip to Content

ESS Faculty Highlights

ESS Faculty Highlights

Dr. Duane Knudson (Professor and Chair) is an internationally known scholar in the biomechanics of sports and exercise. He has published over 118 peer-reviewed articles, 14 chapters, and three books. Recent national and regional awards for this research include:

- 2016 35th Dudley Allen Sargent Award NAKHE. The Sargent Lecture and Award honors an outstanding male scholar in the field and is named after the scholar and founder of the Hemenway Gymnasium at Harvard University.

  • - 2011 Ruth B. Glassow Honor Award from the Biomechanics Academy of NASPE.
  • - 2010 Southeast ACSM Scholar Award.

Dr.  Michelle Hamilton (Associate Professor) was inducted into the San Marcos Women’s Hall of Fame on October 21st, 2015.  The San Marcos Women’s Hall of Fame honors women who have made exceptional contributions and leadership in the area of service to the San Marcos community.

- Dr. Hamilton was honored for her leadership in the San Marcos community for youth and families.She has spearheaded several education-based initiatives in the San Marcos community.

- Some of her contributions have included board chair of the United Way of Hays County and current board chair for the San Marcos Commission on Youth and Family.

Dr. Lindsay Kipp (Assoicate Professor) studies psychology of physical activity. Her research focuses on positive youth development through sport, including how coaches can promote psychosocial and physical benefits for young people.

- Society for Health and Physical Educators (SHAPE) Research Writing Award for an article published in Research Quarterly for Exercise and Sport in 2014 (co-authors Weiss and Bolter). The award was presented at the annual SHAPE America Convention in 2016.

- 2015 Research Enhancement Program grant at Texas State University (co-investigator Ronald D. Williams) for a project titled, Psychosocial and physical well-being of early adolescent soccer players: A prospective study.

Carolyn C. Swearingen, M.Ed. (Senior Lecturer and Total Wellness Co-Director) was the recipient of the 2015 College Achievement Award for Excellence in Service and the 2014 Part-Time Faculty Excellence in Teaching Award.

Dr. Ting Liu (Associate Professor and ESS Undergraduate Coordinator) was the recipient of the 2014 Presidential Award for Excellence in Scholarly/Creative Activities. This award is to recognize and reward faculty with significant contributions to their disciplines, to the intellectual life of the university, and to set examples of Texas State’s commitment to research, scholarship, and creative activity as part of the teaching and learning experience.

- 2011 the Lolas E. Halverson Motor Development and Learning Young Investigator National Award.

- 2013 & 2015 the Presidential Distinction Award for Excellence in Teaching